Thilo Koeppe on CSR in China and the Industry 3.5 concept

 

(Article published in German Chamber magazine GCTicker, issue Oct-Nov 2016, download PDF)

by OLIVIA HELVADJIAN


Industry 4.0 focuses on increasing efficiency, quality and flexibility, while adopting cyber connectivity. Where Industry 4.0 puts CPS (cyber-physical systems) in its focus, the Inclusion Factory’s Industry 3.5 concept focuses on human talents namely Talents with Disabilities (TwD). The aim is to provide challenged individuals with the training to produce demanding cable harnesses and assemble a variety of products using specially designed fixtures and machinery.

The Inclusion Factory is an innovative example of consolidated action; as part of the Taicang roundtable, more than 80 partners joined forces to establish the workshop, which is the first institution in China to offer a meaningful employment solution to individuals who are intellectually or physically challenged under real market conditions. The workshop is based on a model established in Germany by Lebenshilfe e.V. and focuses on becoming an integral part of the industrial value chain of companies operating in and around Taicang.

GC Ticker team met with Thilo Koeppe, chairman of the board of directors, Taicang Inclusion Factory to further discuss CSR in China and the Industry 3.5 concept.

What are the challenges and advantages of beginning CSR projects in China?

It’s hard to speak about this topic generally but I can tell you a little from our experience. The main challenge of starting a larger scale CSR project was certainly getting the local authorities intrigued by the concept and its potential impact. For us, the most important assets are the employees. Without the help of the local disabled federation we would not have been able to identify our Talents with Disabilities. Furthermore, we required governmental support to provide our employees with regular work permits and social insurance coverage. Consequently, the backing of the local authorities is key. Once those hurdles were successfully negotiated, the CSR engagement became highly rewarding due to amazing public interest helping us tremendously in increasing the number of supporting organizations.

We have also met with substantial challenges that come along with the lack of awareness towards people who are intellectually or mentally challenged – their abilities, their aspirations and their rightful place in society. We strongly believe that challenged people have the desire to be, and are capable of being, fully integrated into an industrial working environment and consequently into our society. In order to lead such change, we developed and applied a unique concept of specialized coaching & mentoring methodologies, smart semi-automated workplaces and an innovative shop floor coaching system, which enabled us to achieve what was commonly perceived to be impossible: challenged people manufacturing at productivity and quality levels being comparable or even better than known from the “normal” industry.

Honestly, another challenge we underestimated, is striving to become respected as a full-value, quality supplier to the industry. Companies
keep approaching us with good intentions by considering us with some simple work tasks. However, thanks to our special training and workshop
setup we are capable of doing far more and in fact need to focus on high quality value-adding jobs in order to become financially sustainable. To change this mindset of our customers has been taking us far longer than expected. Luckily it has started to change. Our ever-growing list of multinational customers and numerous inquiries from large German enterprises operating in China is the best evidence.

This still doesn’t mean that we are safe from market fluctuation but we are sure with time we will have created a solid foundation resting on multiple pillars.

This issue of GC Ticker focuses on AI and Industry 4.0. The Inclusion Factory has its own version called ‘Industry 3.5’ can you explain a little bit about it? Where do you see the differences between Industry 3.5 and Industry 4.0?

The core of our Industry 3.5 concept are TWD’s…our Talents with Disabilities. After picking their own task from a visual planning system a smart RFID-supported supervision system mentors our TWDs all the way from raw material to the finished product, eliminating handling errors. Top quality and high efficiency is achieved by specialized and intelligent working stations combined with visual aided controls.

In the Industry 4.0 concept, Cyber Physical Systems (CPS) are communicating with each other making decisions without human interference. Here we have a clear differentiator to our concept Industry 3.5. The shop floor management system at the Inclusion Factory is communicating with CPS (e.g. RFID tagged material) in order to provide information to our workers supporting and coaching their manual work. Industry 3.5 is doing away with error-prone training on complicated work instructions. In fact, conventional work instructions are not required anymore. Side effect: training of workers is much more efficient raising productivity to new levels while providing the flexibility we need. Applied in the industry, our system is also a powerful instrument to deal with high blue-collar worker turnover as lesser skilled workers are coached and supervised by the system to carry out complex manufacturing processes without long
and expensive training periods.

How did the Inclusion Factory develop the Industry 3.5 concept?

As the Inclusion Factory is a cash-flow managed non-profit organization, it soon became very obvious that we have to successfully deal with conventional free-market challenges such as high efficiency, top quality, unprecedented flexibility, assuring safer workplaces, allowing quick reactions to changes in demand and providing traceability to our customers, while at the same time
remaining cost competitive. Considering the fact that our employees are intellectually as well as physically challenged, this became a major task that required an innovative solution. Consequently, we had our supporting partner MDT designing and building all our special fixtures and machinery and developing the Industry 3.5 concept with the constant feedback from our Job Coaches in order to create a system, which we believe is imperative to achieve financial sustainability of our project.

Could other companies implement something similar?

Other companies could certainly implement the Industry 3.5 concept and are more than welcome to come and visit us to see it with their own eyes. The system is installed while we are putting
continuous effort into optimizing the software part using A-Plan 12 for production tasks and resource planning and into fine-tuning the unique language-free symbol touch user interfaces we develop for Industry 3.5.

Companies could and in fact should also implement an inclusion strategy in their operations as they will substantially benefit from it – in the form of government subsidies and tax incentives, which result in savings up to RMB 500,000 per year for a small-medium size company and many millions for large scale manufacturing companies. On top of that comes great PR for the company thanks to its Corporate Social Responsibility involvement.

However, the main challenge is not to provide the suitable infrastructure such as specialized workplaces and disabled-friendly access to locations such as toilets and canteens. The complexity lies
in the adequate coaching and fostering of the challenged employees while facilitating the societal inclusion in the existing environment by specially trained job coaches.

What could be done to support the opening of additional workshops in other cities across China?

Numerous representatives of local authorities from other regions in China have been visiting the Inclusion Factory showing great interest in copying our concept. We are happy to support those initiatives, but as mentioned earlier the success of the concept stands and falls with properly trained Job Coaches being able to handle psychological, technical, managerial as well as commercial challenges. To our knowledge, such comprehensive education is not yet available in China.

Consequently, we decided to extend our offerings by two unique services. First, our Job Coach Academy, which will train future Job Coaches for making our concept replicable and secondly our Inclusion Advisory, which will support companies in including physically challenged individuals into
their operation by sharing our recruitment and assessment experience, training the future employees in our workshop, conducting seminars for middle management and offering constant guidance and support from our experienced staff.

Could the Inclusion Factory and similar industrial workshops have a sustainable business model?

You are touching a sensitive point here. Most of the Lebenshilfe workshops in Germany would not be sustainable without donations and cash injections. At the Inclusion Factory we have the aspiration to become a sustainable business model. Industry 3.5, trainings of professional Job Coaches and the Inclusion Advisory Service will play a major role while advancing on our path towards becoming a sustainable business model. I would like to take this opportunity and thank all our great supporters and numerous partners who are the backbone of the Inclusion Factory. We
have been thrilled by the outstanding support given by our cooperation partners providing start-up funding, our production partners entrusting us with orders, as well as our service & consulting partners not getting tired in accompanying us on our journey to become a social enterprise with a real impact.

What do you predict for the development of CSR projects in China in the next 5 years?

As long as CSR is not seen as a fashion trend but a passion, respective projects will gain significance for years to come. Companies will put increasing effort into becoming a responsible member of the local business community. However, I strongly believe that for a sustainable engagement, CSR has to create economic value for an organization. This value creation has to be identified and driven by the top management. Local regulations and incentives are already in place to make CSR economically attractive…organizations just have to be willing to develop concepts creating a sustainable win-win situation.

Mr. Koeppe thank you for speaking with us.

Thilo Koeppe关于中国企业的社会责任和工业3.5概念

 

(文章发表于德国商会出版的杂志GCTicker,创作日期2016年10-11月,下载PDF

作者:OLIVIA HELVADJIAN


工业4.0专注于提高效率,质量和灵活性,同时采取网络连接。不同于工业4.0的侧重点CPS(信息物理系统),工业3.5概念则注重于人才又称残疾人才(TwD)。其目的是培训残疾人士去生产线束以及利用机械装置去组装一系列的产品。

中德善美就是这种创新概念运用的典型;作为太仓欧商协会的一部分,80多家企业联手建立了这个工厂,它是中国第一家在当前市场条件下为智力或肢体残疾人员提供真正意义上的就业解决方案的机构。该工厂基于德国Lebenshilfe模型建立并且着力成为太仓及周边地区所在公司产业价值链的一部分。

GCTicker杂志团队就此采访了Thilo Koeppe,太仓中德善美实业有限公司的董事会主席,以进一步探讨中国企业的社会责任和工业3.5概念。

在中国开展企业社会责任项目的挑战和优势是什么?

很难去笼统的讨论这个话题,但我可以用一些我们的实际经验去说。对于启动一个规模较大的企业社会责任项目来说,最主要的挑战当然是让地方当局对这个概念感兴趣及其潜在影响。对我们来说,最重要的资产是员工。如果没有当地残疾人联合会的帮助,我们就无法找到残疾人才。此外,我们需要政府的支持,由此员工提供相关的工作许可和社会保险。因此,地方当局的支持是关键。一旦成功解决这些障碍,企业社会责任的参将变得非常有价值的,惊人的公众效益将帮助我们极大地增加支持组织的数量。

我们所面临的实质性挑战,来自智力障碍人士—他们的能力、愿望以及他们应有的社会地位。我们坚信,这些残疾人士是有意愿并且有能力,去充分融入工作环境从而融入社会的。为了引导这种变化,我们开发并应用了一种独特的专业辅导方法,智能半自动化的工作场所和一个创新的车间培训系统,这使我们能够实现通常被认为是不可能的:残疾人士的制造生产率和质量水平将与”正常”的工业企业相当甚至更优。

坦白说,我们低估了另一个挑战,就是去努力作为一个全价、优质的工业企业供应商从而被尊重。考虑到一些简单的工作任务,许多公司会善意地联系我们。然而,鉴于我们的特殊培训和车间设置,我们其实能够做得更多,我们可以专注于更高品质的增值工作,从而实现财务上的可持续性。改变我们客户的这种心态已经远远超出了我们的预期。所幸它已经开始改变。我们不断增长的跨国公司客户和众多在中国经营的德国大型企业是最好的证明。

这并不意味着我们伴随着市场波动是安全的,但我们相信随着时间的推移,我们将在多个立足点建立一个坚实的基础。

GCTicker聚焦于人工智能和工业4.0,您能解释一下关于中德善美自己的“工业3.5”吗?您认为工业3.5和工业4.0的区别是什么?

我们所讲的“工业3.5”的核心在于残疾人才。从可视规划系统中分配到自己的任务后,伴随着电子标签,从原材料到成品,我们的残疾员工将全程被监督,从而避免操作上的失误。专业化、智能化工作站与视觉辅助控制相结合,实现高质量、高效率。

工业4.0概念中,信息物理系统(CPS)独立于人为干扰相互沟通进行决策。而在我们的工业3.5中,有一个明显的区别。中德善美的车间管理系统与信息物理系统(比如带电子标签的材料)连接,以提供信息给我们的工人进而支持和指导他们的手工作业。工业3.5将用于在复杂的工作中消除易发性错误。事实上,关于这一点,传动的工作方法已经不能满足现状。其另一方面的作用在于:能够有效地去培训工人的生产力到新的水平,同时满足我们需要的灵活性。应用在行业中,我们的系统也是一个有效的措施,能购指导和监督非熟练工代替高技能工人去执行复杂的制造工艺,而不需要漫长和昂贵的训练周期。

中德善美是如何运用工业3.5概念的?

中德善美作为一个财政控制的非营利组织,很快情况变得很明显,我们不得不去面对传统自由市场竞争中如高效率、高质量、多变的灵活性,保证工作场所安全,快速反应以应对客户多变的需求,同时保持成本竞争力等诸多挑战。考虑到我们的员工即有肢体残疾又有智力残疾,创造一个全新的解决方案将是我们的主要任务。因此,我们的项目支持伙伴MDT帮我们设计和建造了特殊的工具和机械,并且结合职业培训师的不断反馈创建一个系统的工业3.5概念系统,我们认为这是实现我们项目的财务可持续性中必要的环节。

其他公司也能实行类似的想法吗?

其他公司当然可以实行工业3.5,我们也非常欢迎,甚至更希望他们能亲眼参观我们的结果。该系统安装的同时,我们将不断努力,采用A12计划实行生产任务和资源规划从而优化软件部分,以及调整我们为工业3.5所开发的独特语言自由符号触摸用户界面.公司可以事实上也应该在经营中实施多元化战略,因为他们将从中受益-以政府补贴和税收优惠的形式,这使得中小型公司和数以百万计的大型制造公司每年可以节省五十万人民币的成本。除此之外,企业社会责任的参与将为公司带来巨大的公关影响。

然而,主要的困难不在于提供适当的基础设施,如专门的工作场所和残疾人便利设施,如厕所和食堂。困难在于经特殊训练的职业培训师去对残疾员工进行适当的辅导和培养,帮助他们在当前环境下去融入社会。

如何去帮助中国的其他城市建立类似的工厂?

在中国其他地区的众多当局代表在访问中德善美时,表现出了想复制我们理念的巨大兴趣。我们很高兴能够支持这些举措,但正如前面提到的,这种概念的成功取决于职业培训师是否能够处理心理,技术,管理以及商业管理等诸多方面的挑战。据我们所知,在中国这样的综合教育还没有。

因此,我们决定在两个独特的方面扩展我们的产品。首先,我们的职业培训师学院,这将培训未来的职业培训师从而让我们的理念得以复制,建设第二个中德善美,以及运用我们的招聘和评估经验帮助有残疾工人的公司去运营,为我们的工厂培训更多的员工,主持中层管理者的研讨会,并向有经验的员工提供持续的辅导和支持。

中德善美及其他类似的工业企业是否有可持续的商业模式?

你触及了一个关键点。没有捐赠和资金的注入,德国大多数的lebenshilfe工厂是不可能实现持续发展的。在中德善美,我们渴望成为可持续发展的商业典范。在工业3.5中,培养专业的职业培训师以及提供咨询服务将起到重要作用,同时推进我们在成为可持续发展的商业典范道路上前行。我想借此机会,感谢所有伟大的支持者和众多合作伙伴-中德善美的骨干们。我们非常感激于我们的合作伙伴提供了启动资金这一巨大的支持,我们的生产合作伙伴给我们的订单,以及我们的服务和咨询合作伙伴在我们成为一个真正可以影响社会的企业的道路上不离不弃的陪伴。

你对中国的企业社会责任项目在未来5年的发展预测是什么?

只要企业社会责任并没有被视为时尚潮流,而是一种激情,相关的项目将年复一年获得越来越多的意义。公司将投入越来越多的努力去成为当地商界的担负责任的成员。然而,我坚信,为了可持续的参与,企业社会责任必须为组织创造经济价值,并且这个价值创造必须由高层管理人员去识别和驱动。地方法规和激励措施已经到位,使企业社会责任经济具有吸引力…组织只要有意愿去发展这种概念,就可以创造一个可持续双赢的局面。

感谢Koeppe先生的精彩阐述。