At the age of 6, Xiao Quan started to look very different from other children. He liked to tease his neighbors’chicken. Xiao Quan’s parents had to apologize to their neighbors everytime. The situation happened over and over again. The neighbors didn’t have any other choice, just to keep bearing it, because everyone knew that this childwas a bit special. Xiao Quan’s parents said openly that families with similar children to Xiao Quan are not in an easy situation. Only parents of intellectually challenged children know how hard it can get.


All parents wish their children to be successful, and so do Xiao Quan’s parents. When Xiao Quan was in school, he was not social and he could not keep up with other students. Everytime there was a team activity, other students would run in one direction and Xiao Quan would run in the opposite one.

Later on, Xiao Quan’s parents moved from Anhui province to Suzhou for work purpose and took Xiao Quan along with them. He dropped out of school after finishing his primary education. As his parents have always been busy with work, they didn’t have time to stay at home and take care of him. They had to let Xiao Quan stay in a rented apartment alone. “He felt lonely there and didn’t have any friends, we could see he how he started to deteriorate.” His parents said.


How can a young man in the prime of his life be expected to stay at home by himself? Xiao Quan always sneaked out when his parents were not at home, however he often got lost and could not find his way back home. Sometimes Xiao Quan’s parents were looking for him until late at night. If they didn’t find him, the only option was to call the police, so they became regular visitors of the police station.

Once, on the afternoon of the Lantern Festival of 2017, Xiao Quan as usual, was going in the direction of Nanyang Square in Taicang; when he started to go back home ,he went in the opposite direction. He kept walking further and further, without asking anybody for help.

Then it started to rain, and Xiao Quan’s parents had to report to the police. That time his where aboutswere updated every half an hour. After 40 hours passed and he didn’t come back, his parents feared that the worst. After 48 hours, the parents had to give up. They left the police station crying in despair, and decided to go home and wait for information from the police.

When his parents returned home and opened the door, they couldn`t believe their eyes. Xiao Quan was at home, looking like a homeless, all covered in mud and grabbing leftovers from Lantern Festival’s dinner. Because he was eating so much and so fast, he actually damaged his stomach that day.


After surviving by the skin of his teeth, Xiao Quan’s parents decided that something must change in Xiao Quan’s life, and he should not make the life of his whole family so hard. They must seek the support from the government. Later, for the sake of their children, his parents also moved their household registration from Anhui to Suzhou.

After he came to work in the Inclusion Factory, Xiao Quan’s family experienced a great change. From Monday to Friday, Xiao Quan works in the Inclusion Factory, receiving professional vocational training and completing designated daily tasks. After a busy week, Xiao Quan does not want to run around on weekends any more. Instead, he stays at home and has a good rest.


Xiao Quan’s parents were very pleased from Xiao Quan’s change at this point. Inclusion Factory’s employees are driven to and from work every day, so Xiao Quan’s parents can set their mind at rest. Before working in the Inclusion Factory, Xiao Quan stayed at home and his parents found that the older he grew, the more serious his impairment became and the his mental deterioration gradually worsen. After receiving professional career training at the Inclusion Factory, Xiao Quan became more organized and efficient. At work, Xiao Quan gets along well with many colleagues and although he does not talk much, he has become more outgoing and undergone a major change.

6岁时,小泉就表现与一般孩子很不一样,喜欢捉弄邻居的家禽,父母每次只好向邻居道歉。这种情况反反复复,邻居们也只好忍气吞声,大家都知道这个孩子比较特殊。父母坦然,有着这样孩子的家庭都很不容易,有苦只有自己才知道。

所有的父母都希望自己的孩子能成才,小泉的父母当然也不例外。小泉上学后,学习进度一直跟不上,而且很不合群,每次班集体活动的时候,同学都是往这边跑,但小泉却往另外一边跑。

后来小泉父母从安徽来到苏州工作,小泉也随之而来,小学毕业后就辍学了。
父母一直忙着工作,根本没有时间在家来照顾小泉,只好让小泉留在家里。父母说:“小泉在家比较孤僻,没什么朋友,我们也看出来他变得越来越迟钝”

一个正处于花盛年华的少年怎能安心宅在家呢?小泉总是在父母不在家的时候溜出去,可经常在外面溜着溜着就迷路了,找不到回家的路。父母有时去寻找小泉找到深夜一两点,只好报警,也成了派出所的常客。

有一次在2017年的元宵节的下午,小泉也像往常一样溜到南洋广场,在回家时走反了方向,越走越远,在路上他也不会向路人求助。

后来渐渐下起了小雨,父母只好报案,与警察一起寻找。当时每隔半个小时就需要更新一次小泉的下落,随着10个小时、20个小时、30个小时、40个小时的过去,父母倒数着小泉离死亡线越来越近,希望也越来越渺茫。到了失联48个小时后,父母只好放弃,哭着离开派出所,回家等待警察的消息。

当父母回到家,一把门打开时,发现小泉奇迹地出现在家里,全身布满了泥土,看起来就像一个流浪汉,正从冰箱去取元宵节那天的剩菜,狼吞虎咽地把食物塞进口里。正是这一次,小泉把自己的胃撑坏了。

经过这一次死里逃生,父母认为小泉的生活必须要发生改变了,不能再给家庭带来负担,必须寻求政府的扶持。后来,父母为了孩子也把户籍从安徽迁移到苏州,残联把小泉转介到中德融创工场工作。

来到中德融创工场工作后,小泉的家庭发生了彻底的变化。周一到周五,小泉在中德融创工场上班,接受专业的职业培训,每天还需要完成一定的工作任务。工作日繁忙的工作结束后,到了周末,小泉再也不想到处乱跑,而是留在家里好好休息。

父母对于小泉的这一点变化,特别欣慰。每天中德融创工场有员工车接送上下班,父母可以放心在外面工作了。在中德融创工场工作之前,小泉一直待在家里,父母发现小泉越长大,障碍越严重,智力逐渐退化。在中德融创工场得到专业的职业培训后,回到家做家务时虽然做起来还是很慢,但是变得有条理、有顺序。在工作中,可以跟很多同事一起相处,话虽不多,但整个人变得开朗多了。